Culture Culture

17/03/2021 - 08:53

Opening of Tang Thu Lau

After a period of restoration, the unique historical and cultural relic Tang Thu Lau [Library Palace] (344 Dinh Tien Hoang, Hue City) has just been opened and put into used on the afternoon of March 15.

Tang Thu Lau attracting many young people

Tang Thu Lau was built in the 6th year of Minh Mang reign (1825) at Doanh Phong garden in the Citadel and had existed for 120 years (1825-1945). It had a different type of architecture compared to hundreds of other wooden architectural works at that time.

To avoid the spread of fire, as well as to protect the original national documents, the structure was built on an island in the middle of the lake, with 2 floors. The upper floor had 7 rooms and 2 wings, and the lower floor had 11 rooms. Surrounding the four sides, handrails were built. The structure was placed in the middle of a square, man-made lake called Ho Hoc Hai (Hoc Hai Lake).

Mr. Vo Le Nhat, Director of Hue Monuments Conservation Center, said that the structure was handed over to the Center in early 2000s. In order to preserve and promote a unique historical and cultural relic, the Center had promoted the research and restoration of the Tang Thu Lau relic with the aim of turning this place into a national and regional archive, giving back the building its original function and its value and role as it had had in history. In 2014, the restoration project of this structure was initiated and is now completed and put into use.

On this occasion, Hue Monuments Conservation Center introduced the Nguyen Dynasty bibliography collection, including thousands of royal official documents and images. Despite being only a small part in the huge treasure of valuable documents of the Nguyen Dynasty, this collection has helped visitors to have an initial picture of the value of the valuable documents that have been stored here.

Story and photo: Minh Hien